IFPTE Officers


Dean Coate

Scott Travers

Canadian Area VP

Scott Travers is the President of The Society of Energy Professionals, IFPTE Local 160, representing 8,000 professional employees in Ontario including engineers, scientists, supervisors and finance specialists. Additionally, Mr. Travers is the IFPTE Canadian Area Vice-President, and an Executive Board Member of the Ontario Federation of Labour. Mr. Travers's career in Ontario's energy sector spans more than 25 years. Prior to his election in 2013, Mr. Travers was a Senior Market Analyst at the Independent Electricity System Operator.

Mr. Travers has an MBA from Wilfred Laurier University, an engineering degree from McMaster University and a Bachelors of Education from Brock University, specializing in adult education.

IFPTE at a Glance


IFPTE represents over 80,000 women and men in professional, technical, administrative and associated occupations in the United States and Canada.


Our members work for federal, public and private employers, and work in various occupations such as auditors, drafters/designers, engineers, judges, lawyers, researchers, scientists, and technicians to name a few.

Executive Board

The Executive Council is made up of Officers and Area Vice-Presidents. Area Vice-Presidents are elected by members within their specific area, and are responsible for governing IFPTE between conventions. A list of the Area Vice-Presidents can be found on our Officers page.

Executive Officers

The Executive Officers run the day to day operations of IFPTE and they are elected at the IFPTE Convention, which are held every three years.