Share |

WAPSO Holds Annual General Meeting

On Thursday, November 5th, WAPSO/IFPTE Local 162 held their Annual General Meeting (AGM) for the membership. As with most AGMs, Local 162 was required to hold their meeting online via Zoom due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The fall has not been kind to Manitoba and cases have been spiking since Labour Day.

The AGM was an opportunity for the executive to address their membership and continue working hard under the new normal. It was the first AGM since the ratification of the Localís most recent contract earlier in the fall. It was also the first AGM for the new Labour Relations Officer, Tracy Schmidt. IFPTE President Paul Shearon and Secretary-Treasurer Matt Biggs called into the meeting to address the membership and share stories from the recent U.S. presidential election.

WAPSO Local 162 held its staggered elections this year. Former Local 162 president Michael Robinson was re-elected to the position of 1st Vice-President and Angela Smith was re-elected as the Secretary-Treasurer. Local 162 is pleased to welcome new board members:

  • Patricia Bishop, Assessment & Taxation

  • Danielle Carriere, Indigenous Relations Division

  • Dave Gaudreau, Fleet

  • Amy Samphir, Water & Waste
Local 162 wants to offer thanks to Sean Berman, who is not returning to the board for a 2nd term but whose valuable contributions over the last 2 years were much appreciated. WAPSO Local 162 is looking forward to working with all the new board members and returning executive board members.

< View All News